Baking my first Cake…

 

1180872830 eda1af2e78

“You’ve got this life and while you’ve got it, you’d better kiss like you only have one moment, try to hold someone’s hand like you will never get another chance to, look into people’s eyes like they’re the last you’ll ever see, watch someone sleeping like there’s no time left, jump if you feel like jumping, run if you feel like running, play music in your head when there is none, and eat cake like it’s the only one left in the world!”  C. JoyBell C.

I love this concept and as appreciating life goes I don’t think I do too bad a job.  My problem is I simply don’t have enough cake in my life, mostly because pottering in my kitchen almost always leads to the production of something savoury as opposed to sweet.  There is good reason for this – the ad hoc nature of cooking suits my particular brand of chaos far more than the precision of baking.  My ability to create mouth-watering desserts appears to have got lost during the creation process as the chocolate mousse, the tart tatin, the apple pie and the pavlova that all found there way to the nearest bin will attest to. But today is the day to start to right this wrong.

And so I am currently in the process of baking my first cake. I selected carefully, knowing my limitations and deduced that the simplest looking option was a Lemon Drizzle Cake.  Added bonus, I love this not too sweet, perfect with coffee, offering.  And so it begins….

As I don’t bake, I have no real equipment, so creaming butter and sugar by hand was a fairly vigourous and slightly painful way to start the day.  But I got there with tortoise steps and a few rest stops.  The rest of the cake mix seemed pretty straight-forward and licking the bowl was nostalgic and reassuring.  So in to the oven it went.

Then the panic phase….the recipe says 45 mins.  45 mins is up.  I don’t think it is cooked!!!! Leave it in longer? Will it not burn?  Maybe it is supposed to be a little wobbly?  Ask google!! The skewer is not clean.  Leave it in longer….panic!

Ok so left it 10 more minutes, with obsessive checking and I think it’s done….or burnt.  So just have to make the drizzle and let it cool.  Then coffee and the taste test.  Feeling nervous!!!!

From a purely visual perspective..it looks like a cake, albeit one a ten year old might make.  I wasn’t quite precise enough with the lining of the tin and so the edges are a  little imperfect…lesson learnt for next time. As for the taste?  A very pleasant surprise, it cut perfectly, the drizzle is wonderfully tart, the cake itself sweet and buttery.  If I were to make it again (and I definitely will) I would add some lemon juice as well as zest to the cake batter itself.  Otherwise a success topped with some lightly whipped cream…sweet and delicious!!

Here is the link to the recipe, it is by Tana Ramsey and I found it on the excellent BBC Goodfood site.

I have now polished off several slices to the mellow, quirky sounds of the Whitestripes, a little of The Lumineers, Colbie Caillat’s Bubbly and a steaming coffee.  I was also flicking through “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?” for some light-hearted reading and nodding in agreement with phrases like:

“One friend with whom you have a lot in common is better than three with whom you struggle to find things to talk about.”  

That type of friend is the perfect person to share a slice of lemon drizzle cake with.

Have a great day.  Eat Cake.  Maybe even bake one!!!! xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Baking my first Cake…

Leave a Reply

