Simple Salmon & Links I Like

It is a lazy Monday evening with rain rhythmically tapping on the window and a fire crackling in the hearth. I am catching my breath for 10 minutes as my salmon parcels cook in the oven.  They make for a simple weeknight dinner that is both healthy and tasty, the kind of dish that is perfect to start the week with. Loads of flavour, no guilt.  To be honest this dish hardly represents a recipe at all but nonetheless I will share it.
image

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 16 cherry tomatoes
  • 1 courgette, thinly sliced
  • 1 red onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 cloves of crushed garlic
  • 2/3 Tbs basil pesto
  • A handful of fresh basil
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper

Method:

Preheat the oven to 200C. Cut the tinfoil into two rectangles, large enough to comfortably fit the salmon fillets and vegetables. Lightly drizzle the tinfoil with olive oil.  Place one  salmon fillet in the centre.

In the meantime, half the cherry tomatoes and place them in a bowl.  Add some thinly sliced courgette and some finely chopped red onion.  Scatter in a handful of torn basil.  Mix everything together.

Spoon the vegetable mix onto the tinfoil, closely surrounding the salmon.  Season everything with salt and pepper and dot the salmon with a little pesto.  Wrap up the foil to form a parcel and bake for 20 mins or until the salmon is cooked and the vegetables are tender.

Serve the salmon in its parcels with some sweet potato fries and steamed green beans. Relax and enjoy.

16260801513 c913d192dd

After dinner, I like to curl up for a half an hour and catch up on some reading. Today I am revisiting some of the offerings from last week’s explorations in the virtual realm that made me think, or smile or just linger for a few moments.  I hope they have the same effect on you!

First off, would you let a kitchen timer control your life?  Look at how this writer fared out when he did exactly that.  It wouldn’t be for me but he proposes a thought-provoking thesis.

These stories from The Guardian of conversations that changed people’s lives are some of the most entertaining anecdotes I have read in a long time. Read them here and ask yourself what one conversation changed your life.

I know most of the world is now familiar with the John Lewis 2015 advert but this one from 2013 is still my favourite.  Love the cuteness of it The Bear and The Hare

Dr Seuss, along with Winnie the Pooh, offers a wealth of wisdom to carry through life and with the mania of Black Friday and Cyber Monday, maybe we need a little reflection on the words of the reformed Grinch

“Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before! What if Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store. What if Christmas…perhaps…means a little bit more!”
–Dr. Seuss, How the Grinch Stole Christmas!

This drawing is just too cute!

I will definitely be ordering a couple of these best-selling books for some light holiday reading, as I spend a few weeks relaxing with my husband and our dog in our little holiday cottage in rural Ireland, close to my mum and dad.

I decided that this brown sugar cinnamon french toast (from Jillain Harris’ Blog) may be worth every single one of the 10,000,000 calories but it will have to wait for another day, as the overripe bananas sitting in the fruit bowl prompted me to make Chocolate Chip Banana Bread instead – my second cake in a week. I also have a loaf of wholemeal bread cooling on the rack. This baking thing may well become a habit, I just love the sweet smells wafting around the kitchen.  Simple pleasures are surely the best kind.  As Thoreau remarked, “Our life is frittered away by detail. Simplify! Simplify!”
image

Leave a Reply

