The Meaning of Christmas..to me!!

“If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs…”  – Kipling

The last lazy Sunday before the festive season really gets going and I am tiptoeing into the day in stockinged feet.  It feels like an afternoon to try and keep calm as the madness of materialism is in full swing.

5398312052 d437211cb9

Yesterday, I struggled to park in the mayhem, of the normally quite tranquil, local supermarket. I watched people “running blind”, to coin my father-in-law’s phrase, stressed and hassled in an urge to tick items off the list and I questioned, not for the first time, whether we have lost sight of what the holidays are really about.  Even if you are not religious, Christmas should be spiritual.  Even if you are not romantic, the season should be magical. No matter how independent you are, for the next couple of weeks, the people you love should be your priority.

15883210739 cdf0bcfaf0

The indulgence of Christmas for me, is not about lavish gifts, but little luxuries like putting a dash of pouring cream or Bailey’s through your coffee after dinner. It is about a chocolate truffle where there may normally be an apple. It is about inviting friends to a dinner that might regularly just be for two.  It is about always making room for dessert!

At Christmas, kids movies are for adults. Frosty the Snowman forces a smile. Homes always smell of food. Walks become essential to survival; we need to move to make room to eat more. Mulled wine in pyjamas is acceptable and the heating is always on. Drinks have bubbles, music plays, doors are unlocked. Decadence doesn’t have to come with a hefty price tag!!

2129707463 8c2e6cfe94

The moments that are major in our lives are not the ones that are budgeted for and choreographed. They are the ones that creep gently up on us, sometimes with such subtlety, we may not even remember them happen. How many of us have people in our world that own a little piece of our hearts, but we barely remember the day we first met them?

Christina Rosetti captures  it perfectly in this stunning, romantic sonnet:

“I wish I could remember that first day”

I wish I could remember that first day,
    First hour, first moment of your meeting me,
    If bright or dim the season, it might be
Summer or Winter for aught I can say;
So unrecorded did it slip away,
    So blind was I to see and to foresee,
    So dull to mark the budding of my tree
That would not blossom yet for many a May.
If only I could recollect it, such
    A day of days! I let it come and go
    As traceless as a thaw of bygone snow;
It seemed to mean so little, meant so much;
If only now I could recall that touch,
    First touch of hand in hand – Did one but know!
by Christina Rosetti
We will always miss some of the seminal moments in our lives, will always wish we could relive them, but maybe if we were a little more in tune with the things that really matter – people and experiences – we would miss a little less x

 

2 thoughts on “The Meaning of Christmas..to me!!

Leave a Reply

