5 New Year’s Resolutions!

Image result for start scrabble tiles

Beginnings follow endings, as sure as day follows night.

That’s the thing we often forget about endings, that they inevitably open a new door and lead us in a new direction. There is such possibility in the start of anything – the first day of a New Year, the first page of a new notebook, the first words with a new acquaintance. That wonder that only the unknown can bring, that belief that perfection is attainable.

This sense of possibility is why despite a record blotted with failure, I love the concept of the resolution.  My glass half-full nature, allows me to completely disregard all evidence to the contrary and believe this year is the year that resolve will translate to reality.

So what are my 2016 resolutions?

And by writing them down am I more likely stop them disappearing down a rabbit hole, never to burrow their way back to the surface of my life.

My 5 New Years Resolutions:

  • Stop taking criticism personally.  Recently, I have realised that I take too many people’s opinions on-board and to heart, even if I don’t fundamentally accept them.  This year I am going to try and very clearly keep my eye on the line between the personal and the professional and trust my instincts a little more. I am determined to try to weigh up how important other people’s opinions are, or should be, with a little more objectivity. Hillary Clinton expressed my resolution better than I could, saying :

“Take criticism seriously, but not personally. If there is truth or merit in the criticism, try to learn from it. Otherwise, let it roll right off you. 

  • Exercise. Sport and general fitness has always had a huge role in my life.  I have played team sports to high levels, run a marathon and spent countless hours in countless classes.  This past year however, the lure of laziness was somehow irresistible. From tomorrow, that changes and 2016 will be more active.
  • Host a dinner party. I can cook, I may not be the most accomplished chef, but I tend to produce food that is non-fatal,edible, and on good days even tasty. More importantly, I love to cook. However, the very notion of cooking for other people makes me anxious, in a break out
    in a rash and turn into some slightly psychotic lunatic over the pattern on the plates kinda way. So I just avoid the neurosis by avoiding the situation. So my resolution –  before 365 days have elapsed, I will have invited friends for dinner.

  • Keep blogging.  Blogging is still a novelty to me. Although I have been a fan of blogs for a long time, the experience of writing myself was a new departure. It has been cathartic and rewarding, a pressure release valve at the end of stressful days. I may not have embarked on it without a little push, but I am resolved to stay committed to it for 2016.  Posting may not be daily but it will be regular.
  • Healthy Eating.  I love food.  Nutritious food. Junk food. Simple food. Fine dining. I like to read menus, hoard recipe books, read food blogs, wander around supermarkets, go out to eat, cook at home, discuss food, take pictures of food. You get the idea.  So I resolve to embrace what I love, but in a way that is good for me. Not obsessively or compulsively, but with a 60-40 balance at the very least. So expect to see some healthier, cleaned-up recipes on here in 2016.

So there it is, my great intentions for the year ahead.  I may or may not succeed, but I will at least try to take simple steps, that move me a little closer, to being a version of myself that I like the idea of.

And I suppose the most important thing about beginnings is understanding the need to let some things go.  Let go of fixed ideas, let go of bad habits, let go even sometimes of things you have loved.  Pablo Neruda, captured perfectly, how letting go and moving forward is not always easy but it is an inevitable part of the human condition.  Neruda says. “Love is so short, and oblivion so long”.  The phrase is equally apt if “Life” replaces “Love” in the line.  Life is so, so short. Never stop resolving to be who you really want to be and strive always to achieve whatever it is you dream of.  Just remember, that you can’t embrace the future, if you remain rooted immovably in the past xx

Tonight I can write the saddest lines.

Write, for example,’The night is shattered
and the blue stars shiver in the distance.’

The night wind revolves in the sky and sings.

Tonight I can write the saddest lines.
I loved her, and sometimes she loved me too.

Through nights like this one I held her in my arms
I kissed her again and again under the endless sky.

She loved me sometimes, and I loved her too.
How could one not have loved her great still eyes.

Tonight I can write the saddest lines.
To think that I do not have her. To feel that I have lost her.

To hear the immense night, still more immense without her.
And the verse falls to the soul like dew to the pasture.

What does it matter that my love could not keep her.
The night is shattered and she is not with me.

This is all. In the distance someone is singing. In the distance.
My soul is not satisfied that it has lost her.

My sight searches for her as though to go to her.
My heart looks for her, and she is not with me.

The same night whitening the same trees.
We, of that time, are no longer the same.

I no longer love her, that’s certain, but how I loved her.
My voice tried to find the wind to touch her hearing.

Another’s. She will be another’s. Like my kisses before.
Her void. Her bright body. Her infinite eyes.

I no longer love her, that’s certain, but maybe I love her.
Love is so short, and oblivion so long.

Because through nights like this one I held her in my arms
my soul is not satisfied that it has lost her.

Though this be the last pain that she makes me suffer
and these the last verses that I write for her.

Leave a Reply

