10 things I am loving this week

  1. First up I really needed to replace my selection of nude eye-shadows for the working day and so on Monday I treated myself to this little gem from Benefit. The colours are very subtle, exactly to my taste, and I am loving it so far.
  2. On the same mini-shopping spree, I purchased a few of Penny’s cheap and cheerful scented candles.  They are so cute and are currently burning beautifully around my home. Loving Penny’s home-ware this season.Pineapple Paisley Print Tin CandleSea Salt Breeze Screw Top Candle
  3. The weather here in Ireland had been a little cold and miserable these past few weeks, so I also invested in a soft and cosy jumper – the kind that you can snuggle up in and feel just a little protected. I love it!! grey Savida Jasmine Colour-Block Jumper
  4. As usual I have indulged in some blog reading when I have had a spare moment and I loved this list of things we should aim to do by the extremely talented Hannah Gale.
  5. I also loved this article by Susan at Zanita Studio about how the mind of a successful person works.
  6. Really, really want to give these white chocolate and cranberry scones a whirl this weekend.  They look like the perfect sweet treat with a weekend coffee.
  7. I chilled out listening to the beautiful blogger, Kate La Vie’s January playlist, and I was delighted to see local band Walking on Cars making an appearance. I also agree fully with the power of fresh bed linen and fresh flowers to chase away the winter blues.
  8. I laughed, and continue to laugh, at my friend describing her toddler’s less than perfect new haircut saying, “if I ate it off it would still have looked better”.  I haven’t seen it but I do love the melodrama of the statement – hilarious xxx
  9. I decided that my workspace needs this bright and fun inspiration vision board and some other stationary from Kikki-K 
  10. And finally I revisited the wonderful poem, Piano by D.H. Lawrence. This is a poem that explores the nature of memory and creates a stunning sense of nostalgia.  Life moves on and moments become memories, but sometimes those dormant thoughts reawaken without warning and we are transported back to a time that can never be again – to our childhood and our home. It is in those moments where the past somehow floods the present that we realise how powerful an entity the memory can be.

Piano
by D. H. Lawrence

Softly, in the dusk, a woman is singing to me;
Taking me back down the vista of years, till I see
A child sitting under the piano, in the boom of the tingling strings
And pressing the small, poised feet of a mother who smiles as she sings.
In spite of myself, the insidious mastery of song
Betrays me back, till the heart of me weeps to belong
To the old Sunday evenings at home, with winter outside
And hymns in the cozy parlor, the tinkling piano our guide.
So now it is vain for the singer to burst into clamor
With the great black piano appassionato. The glamour
Of childish days is upon me, my manhood is cast
Down in the flood of remembrance, I weep like a child for the past.

One thought on “10 things I am loving this week

Leave a Reply

