Super Food Saturday

“Cakes are healthy too, you just eat a small slice.”  – Mary Berry

I am inclined to agree with Mary Berry’s philosophy which has echoes of “a little of what you fancy…” and so I have been enjoying a pretty healthy few weeks with little sprinkles of cheating.

Today, I have decided to share my meal plan for the day, complete with a couple of my new favourite recipes. Limiting carbs and particularly bread has meant keeping breakfasts light and I have been experimenting with lots of different types of smoothies. This is my current favourite..

Oaty Berry Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • Handful of strawberries
  • Handful of blueberries
  • 1 chopped banana
  • A couple of handfuls of porridge oats
  • 1 small tub of Greek yoghurt
  • A drizzle of honey
  • A drop of vanilla extract
  • A generous amount of almond milk
  • 4-6 ice cubes

Method:

Just bung every thing in the blender and blitz until smooth.  It is sweet and delicious but still healthy and the oats and yoghurt  give it enough bulk to keep me full until lunch.  I have it with a soft boiled egg and a cup of warm water with lemon.

Weekday lunches have been mostly salads or leftovers from the previous night’s dinner but today I am opting for Jamie Oliver’s “Healthy Chicken Club” with some minor adjustments to suit what I have in my store cupboard.  The recipe comes from  Everyday Super Food (I picked it up through one of those book clubs at work for €10)

IMG_0992

 

I am aware that there is bread in this lunch, but it is Saturday and I cheerfully refer you back to Mary Berry’s quote. To allow myself to feel a little virtuous I am using a fresh loaf of honey and spelt bread.

Healthy Chicken Club

Ingredients:

  • 3cm piece of cucumber
  • 1 ripe pear
  • 2 spring onions
  • 1/2 a little gem lettuce
  • 2 sprigs of basil
  • 2 tablespoons of Greek yoghurt
  • 1 teaspoon of English Mustard
  • 1 tablespoon of white wine vinegar
  • 2 cooked chicken breasts
  • 4 slices of spelt bread
  • 1 tomato
  • 2 handfuls of rocket
  • 1/2 a lemon

Method:

  • Half the cucumber and scoop out the seeds.
  • Grate the cucumber and pear with a box grater and squeeze out any excess liquid with your hands. Put these in a bowl.
  • Shred the lettuce and basil and thinly slice the spring onion before adding to the bowl with the pear and cucumber.
  • Add the yoghurt, mustard and vinegar.  Mix everything well. Taste and season as required.
  • Slice the chicken and tomato and toss the rocket in a little lemon juice.
  • Now toast the bread on a dry pan and you are ready to build your sandwich.
  • Take a toast, pop on a layer of sliced tomato, a generous helping of the dressed salad, chicken, more dressed salad and some rocket leaves.  Top with another slice of toast.
  • Eat and enjoy xo

This was really, really delicious – all the tastiness of a club sandwich but with no bacon, oil, butter or mayo adding to the calorie count.  I would highly recommend it, it was even a hit with my trusty taster who likes to add a generous handful of criticism to many of the “cleaned up” recipes. With the addition of some baked sweet potato fries it would make also make a great dinner.

IMG_1006

For dinner tonight we are going to stick with Jamie and try Chicken and Sweet Potato Cacciatore with Mushrooms, Tomatoes and Olives. It has three of your 5 a day and is bursting with B12.  Given that is a rainy Saturday it may well be followed by a good book, a blazing fire and a glass of slightly warmed Chianti (yep, I know….alcohol!!!…I again refer you to Mary Berry but instead of “cake” read “wine” and for “slice” try “glass” xx)  I will let you know how the recipe goes.  Have a great weekend and fingers crossed for the return of sunny days and stunning sunsets next week.

IMG_0958

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

