Healthy, healthy, healthy!!!

“Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.” – George Bernard Shaw

Well after a fab week in London, the last few days have been about restoring the equilibrium – balancing the excesses of the good life with some of the sacrifices that come with a healthier approach. Otherwise there will be no button closing on any pair of jeans!! But that’s not to say that being healthy cannot be enjoyable. After a lovely sober Saturday night dinner with friends, Sunday lunch with family and many walks in beautiful countryside, it has been a wonderful few days in many ways. But what to eat?????

I have actually had to cook very few dinners in the last few days, just try to make slightly healthier choices at the tables of others. But breakfasts I have been all over. I have tried to keep them pretty light and definitely low in carbs and so fruit, yogurt and smoothies have been my go to meals.  Green smoothies are a goal for later in the week but so far I have been sticking to fruity and yummy. Not a spinach or a kale leaf to be seen. Baby steps.

smoothie

My favourite smoothie is not as healthy as I might like, but it is full of delicious summer berries.  I just blitz a chopped banana, blueberries, strawberries and raspberries with almond milk, Greek yogurt, a drizzle of honey and lots of ice. However, when the smoothie is my entire breakfast I also throw in so organic porridge oats to bulk it out. Obviously these can be gluten free if you prefer and of course you could use protein powder instead to fill you up, but I have never actually bothered.

fruit bowl

Second breakfast of choice these past few days has used the same ingredients, as I am returning to frugality and attempting to minimise waste and it involves just layering fresh fruit and green yogurt in a bowl. I have again been using a selection of berries and chopped banana but this time including some perfectly ripe nectarine slices. I drizzle a little honey over this and just have it with a leisurely cup of green tea, preferably sitting out enjoying this view from the front door.

windmill

If I am hungrier, I find porridge with raspberries does the trick, but I haven’t really been that hungry at all yet.

And now quickly to lunch….simple salads have been the order of the day but I have to admit to doing something that to me involved a dalliance with the dark side. One of those boundaries that you cross, never sure if you can return the same person. The kind of thing you judge others for, thinking you will never go that far. Well go that far I did and you know what, it really wasn’t that bad. Here it is – I ate my lunch out of a lettuce leaf, that was pretending to be a wrap!!!! The only point of redemption was that it wasn’t a burger!!!!

Actually, the lunch in the lettuce leaf was really not half bad. The filling was a combination of cold, leftover brown rice, peas, tuna (in water), avocado, red pepper, lime zest and juice, seasoning and a little yogurt all mixed together with some fresh coriander. Just bung everything in a bowl (Jamie Oliver style), mix it up and spoon it into the leaves of a baby gem lettuce. Now that is a healthy lunch!

lettuce

So there you go, from travel posts to healthy eating posts in the space of a couple of days. Because remember, life is all about balance xo

Leave a Reply

