What I eat in a day: the healthy version

Image result for new beginnings

First off, to acknowledge the long, long time between posts and to commit to rectifying the situation. The lack of posts was not due to any loss of interest in the creative outlet that is blogging, but rather to a loss of the other vital component for any blog – an internet connection. Thankfully, having just moved house (not so I could blog – that would be a tad dramatic!) this situation appears to be rectified. And so, expect a return to regular updates on food, beauty, books, travel and, this year, lots and lots of interiors (because that’s what happens when you buy a 100 year old house that needs work!) But that is for another day…

Today, let’s focus on health and fitness. In a month of resolutions and restarts, today was a welcome return to a life more healthy, after a prolonged season of goodwill and excess (and for excess read chocolate, cheese, crusty bread and white wine). But let’s not dwell on that (for fear I am tempted by the remaining Cadbury’s selection box) and look at the daily diet of someone trying to be healthy (without being vegan, vegetarian, pescatarian, paleo, dairy free, sugar free, or any other rigid diet that is very admirable but just not for me). For me, we are talking simple healthy choices  –  no chocolate for breakfast, ditch the white bread and not a a cracker with brie to be seen.

Diet and exercise

So what did I eat in a day?

I started the day with a mug of warm water with lemon and a banana, eaten in the car on the way to the gym (she says with a hint of smugness). After my workout though, things got a little rushed and the planned breakfast to refuel was forgotten. In fact, two coffees (it’s an addiction you can read more about here) saw me through to lunch.  Not ideal I realise, but that’s just how things went today and I did regain a little ground with a super healthy lunch.

As part of a working lunch meeting, I had a meat free salad box from a local healthy cafe here in Athlone called Eat Unique, where salads are taken to a whole other level of deliciousness (and, let’s be honest, salad in January needs all the help it can get).  My box was made up of a selection of seven salads without even a hint of the ubiquitous limp lettuce leaf. The picture (which was taken by the cafe, not me, but I don’t think they’ll mind) gives you a pretty good idea of the amazing fresh and healthy selection to pick from.

15355616_1744321099222367_6624392861905792832_n

Throughout the day I sipped more water than usual, still nowhere near enough, but didn’t eat anything else until dinner. I didn’t even drink any more coffee!!!!

leanin15

And so to dinner… Cooking just for myself tonight, I chose a prawn stir-fry with rice noodles, adapted from Lean in 15. It was quick, simple and very tasty. It doesn’t really warrant a recipe but, if you want to give it a try, all I did was heat some coconut oil and saute whatever veg I had in the fridge. Today that was red onion, courgette, red and yellow peppers, mushrooms, fresh chilli and garlic. When these had softened slightly, I tossed in some tiger prawns – I used cooked but raw would be even better. Then I drizzled the entire dish with a little light soy and sweet chilli sauce (naughty I know but not a super size Galaxy bar or two glasses of wine). I then added a liberal sprinkle of fresh coriander and served the dish with a small portion of rice noodles, keeping a second portion for tomorrow’s lunch.

winterA coffee after dinner and a peppermint tea before bed and that was a wrap. So there you have it…what I eat on a healthy day. More healthy ideas and recipes are definitely on the cards this month as part of “Operation Close the Button on my Jeans”. I hope your January is getting off to a resolute start too and that, whatever your goals are, you keep them in your sight.

‘Til Next Time xo

 

Leave a Reply

